Mission Statement

At both Sunday School and Wayland, I am in the midst of constructing vision statements or mission statements. At Sunday School we have reorganized our leadership structure. We are spreading responsibilities of different ministry aspects to several couples which I think is wonderful and with the folks that have volunteered in our class, I am confident that God will be able to accomplish great things. At any rate, we had a meeting today to discuss our vision for each individual position that we hold.

I am also a member of the vision team at our church and have a meeting this coming Tuesday, in which we will begin writing a specific vision statement that our church will adopt for the next decade or so. We’ve studied a great deal about our community and discussed at length the challenges the we are facing and need to address. We begin writing the specifics of the vision statement this week and following that, we’ll begin to develop an action plan based on this statement.

As preparation for a SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) visit in the near future (3 years down the road), Wayland is in the process of developing Student Learning Objectives (SLOs) with measurable outcomes for each of its programs. These must relate to a stated mission for each of these programs which then, in turn, relates to the mission of the University. We’ve written one for the mathematics program and are still tweaking the SLOs for our majors.

With all this emphasis on mission and vision statements, I’ve decided to begin writing my own. It is to be a starting place for my next phase in life. I’ve reached all the goals that I set for myself around 5 – 10 years ago. I’ve come to the point that I don’t have anything planned for the rest of my life, other than the obvious ones such as raising my kids in a godly home and being a good husband to my wife. Even those obvious ones need prioritizing and “action plans.” I need to begin looking to the future and asking myself and my family, what do we see for our family over the next 10 years, what do I see in my career in the next 10 years, who do I want to be in the next 10 years? My plan is a) set a mission/vision statement, b) set career goals, c) set family goals, d) set spiritual goals (family and personal), e) set other personal goals, f) prioritize goals, g) discuss all of these with Lori and review her goals, h) re-write all goals cooperatively.

Seems simple enough. First draft of Mission statement (incomplete):

“I live my life in fellowship with Christ to draw others to him and to minister to those around me. I am a husband, a father, and a mathematician. My life is lived to serve others with the gifts that God has given me. ”

One thought on “Mission Statement

Leave a Reply

